Top ten books about: INDIA

Travelling often has moments of extreme boredom. This is not advertised but the most awesome trip in the world is probably going to have long moments where there is very little to do. Especially if you’re like me and a compulsive bus/train taker and airplane avoider.

I’ve lost count of how many hours I’ve spent sitting in stations waiting for transport – and then sitting on arrived transport waiting to arrive in my destination. It’s a lot though. I reckon I must be at over a year now. And if I hadn’t had ample books with me I would probably have gone mad with boredom more than once.

Last spring I finally succumbed and bought a kindle. I’m so glad I did! It’s really lightened the bags I lug around. All my books in one place! Magical.

I thought it would be fun to start a series of posts where I recommend books. I’m always keen for book recommendations so thought I would share mine.

These first top ten are my recommendation for books to take travelling with you that you can lose yourself in on those long journeys. I’m going to do a list for every country I’ve been to. I’m starting with books about INDIA. It’s fun to read books from/set in the country you’re in or about to go to. These are in no particular order.

  1. A suitable boy – Vikram Seth
  2. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  3. Behind the beautiful forevers – Katherine Boo
  4. The god of small things – Arundhati Roy
  5. A passage to India – E.M. Forster
  6. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  7. The jungle book – Rudyard Kipling
  8. The argumentative Indian – Amartya Sen
  9. The white tiger – Aravind Adiga
  10. Are you experienced? – William Sutcliffe

 

