5 things to do in New York.

Things to do in New York

 

The naming of ‘New World’ cities is a curious thing. It’s hard to think of a place as unlike York (U.K.) as New York (U.S.). New York is a tall,  shiny and modern city. It was slightly surreal walking around it during the Christmas holidays. Everything looked vaguely familiar. Of course, this is because of the large number of films and TV shows set in new York that I have consumed over the years. Two things surprised me though – 1. It was more multi-racial than TV had led me to believe and 2. Parts looked a lot poorer than I was expecting. It’s a fun city though and following are some activities I recommend doing on any trip to New York:

 

1. Eat a bagel

bagel

Bagels are plentiful in New York. They come in about 20 different varieties and with uncountable toppings. Just look at all that cream cheese above! Mmm. Actually, I recommend eating many, many bagels. You cannot have too many. That is a true thing. 

2. Explore Central Park

central park

 

If you look at an aerial shot of New York Central Park is a vast rectangle of green. It’s impressive it still exists in the middle of prime real estate. It’s pretty and fun to walk through any time of the year.

3. Visit a museum

natural history museum

New York has many museums. I could write a whole blog post on them alone. The above photo is from the American Museum of Natural History. If you’re into dinosaur bones or dead stuffed animals posed in dioramas then go here. So many dioramas. I also loved their star show. I’ve never been in a planetarium before so it was pretty exciting.

Other museums I recommend checking out are MoMa, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Guggenheim Museum.

4. Take a walk and admire the buildings.

building CollageThis was probably my favourite thing to do in New York. I must have filled my memory card with pictures of buildings, to the bemusement of my family later on. But this is really what made New York different from European cities for me. The buildings were much larger. And shinier. For a fun comparison of the old skyscrapers and new ones, sail around the harbour and look at the skyline.

5. Take a boat out to see the Statue of Liberty.

statue

 

The Statue of Liberty was a gift from France in the late 19th Century. If you take the boat in the late afternoon you get a beautiful view of the sun going down behind it. You can also climb the statue if you wish but my boat just circled around.

Of course New York is  a vast city. There are many exciting things to do within it. These are just 5 quick ideas, highlighting some of the things I enjoyed on my recent visit.

 

